you gotta know when to fold ‘em

Yesterday was all about damage control. I’m slowly getting better about pushing away from the table when I realize that I’m beat, either by myself or by my opponents across the digital felt.

I started off the day with a profit. After 4 hours playing $25 NL at PartyPoker, I walked away $17 ahead. I felt like I had got into a nice groove at the table and in fact I was the big stack there. I reluctantly left because I needed to eat lunch. After a hearty meal, I sat back down at another table but this time I chose a six max game. I had read somewhere that short-handed games were potentially more profitable. I wasn’t really that happy about my earlier session. Making 17 bucks over four hours works out to just over $4 an hour. I want the big money, baby! At least $10 an hour. I mean, make it worth my time, right?

I was mildly uneasy about the table I chose, however. The only open seat was to the right of a player who had over $90. And he was playing a big stack game. But after my earlier success I figured I could negotiate the table dynamics easily. A half hour later and $12 poorer, I remember the other part about playing six max tables. You can also lose money faster. The one thing I felt good about, though, was my decision to leave the table when it became obvious that I was at a disadvantage. In the recent past I would have stayed and tried to do battle with Mr. Big Stack. And I probably would have lost my entire buy-in.

By that time I had had enough of Party for one day, plus my bankroll there was getting dangerously low. I went back over to Pacific where I had about $35 and the option to play $10 NL. I started out well there, got up early and continued making money until I ended up on the wrong end of a straight. I thought I was trapping my opponent with a ten high straight. Turns out he had jack high. I lost most of my stack on that one hand. I played for another 15 minutes then went to bed. Again, I felt that I had played reasonably well. I didn’t make any outrageous mistakes and I didn’t tilt.

Another thing I remember David Sklansky saying is: After a losing session, one way to find comfort is to consider that a lesser player would have lost more money in the same situation. All told, my net loss was $5.60.

And I can honestly say I feel pretty good about that.

1 comment so far

  1. tufat23 on

    lol @ this blog because of the lifetime winnings tally. GSOH, I like it.

    best of luck man


Leave a Reply

