you unlucky bodog, you!

My account balance is anything but golden.

 

Where I come from, there’s a saying, “Can’t win for losing.” That was me all day today. I think this is my first official bad beat post. Here are the “highlights” from various freeroll tournaments I played today. Read on and enjoy…

Pacific Poker $50 Freeroll

I got low on chips rather early, down to 650 with blinds at 50/100, but tripled up when i hit a set of tens.

With the blinds at 75/150, everyone folded around to me in the small blind. Pushing my remaining 1760 chips all in, I tried to steal the blinds with 96, the big blind called me with KJ, but I sucked out, hitting runner runner to make a queen high straight and doubled up (3520).

But karma came back to do me in. With blinds at 150/300, I picked up AJ in the cut off position. Again, everyone folded around to me. I raised three times the big blind to 900. The button and small blind folded. The big blind called. The flop came 8 of diamonds, ace of clubs, 6 of diamonds, giving me top pair with a very nice kicker and I had position. The big blind bet 600. I pushed all in with 1630. BB had me covered with 3858 remaining in his stack and he made the call. He showed 98 suited spades, and I was thinking, I’m good to go. The turn was the queen of spades. Still good. But the river was the 9 of clubs, giving Mr. Big Blind two pair. And I was outta there. I finished 611th out of 2466

CelebPoker $250 Qualifier

I was pretty much card dead the entire way. I played two hands. I limped with a pair of sevens around the third level but ran into a flop of overcards followed by a raise and a call before me. So I had to fold. When I had about 3 big blinds left I tried my luck with A7. I wasn’t very hopeful though when three other players called my all in bet. I busted out on that hand and finished 79th out of 160.

I busted out of a Cake Poker freeroll on the first hand I played, QQ, when I called a big stack’s all in bet, and was followed by about three other callers. I was good all the way until the river. Then an ace fell and that give the big stack a pair of aces with a queen kicker.

bodog $1000 Guaranteed

While waiting for a freeroll at bodog.com, I lost the last few dollars I had in my account over there. I was playing the $10 NL tables. I had about $2.60 left. I went all in with pocket kings, a guy called me with A4, I thought I might actually have a chance to double up. But, my run of bad luck continued with him catching an ace on the turn.

I also played in the bodog $1000 Guaranteed tourney, which is a freeroll with rebuys and addons. I made it to the 5th level, got crippled when I went all in with AK and missed. I busted out a couple hands later when my pocket jacks got cracked by a guy who called with A9 and made a set of nines with the board.

But in the words of Scarlett O’Hara, “I’ll think of some way to get him back. After all… tomorrow is another day.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

